This is the "Home" page of the "Science in Society" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science in Society  

Research tips and tools for the study of personal and social aspects of science.
Last Updated: Feb 16, 2014 URL: http://hendrix.libguides.com/scienceinsociety Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resources

Article Databases – Search Your Issue

General Science  
General Science is a good place to start looking for articles.  This database contains a mixture of popular and scholarly sources.  A portion of this database is full text.  Searching hints:

  • Use the advanced search for more searching options.
  • Use * on the end of your term for variant endings.  Ex.:  environment* retrieves environmental, environmentalist, etc. 
  • Boolean/Phrase search mode requires “AND” to break your search terms.
  • Use the indexes to search for journal titles, subject terms, and author information.

   

Academic Search Complete  - News & Journals 
Academic Search Complete provides citations and a lot of full text to articles (both popular and scholarly) in periodicals and newspapers.

  • Use AND to separate concepts.
  • Use “*” on the end of your terms to pick up word variants.
  • Keep an eye on SUBJECT HEADINGS!  Reformulate your wording if necessary.
  • Limit by date, peer-reviewed, or other options. 

   

LexisNexis Academic – Newspapers & Transcripts 
Use this full-text database to search full text of the New York Times and other newspapers.

  • Search the “News” box – type in New York Times as a source.
  • To access NPR transcripts, go to the “News” menu below; select “Broadcast Transcripts.”
  • The “Sources” menu above will allow you to search specific titles, including Arkansas news, however, the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette is not included.

   

Arkansas Newspapers
Full text of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette is no longer available online.  Bailey has microfilm extending from the origination of the paper through December 2013, and print for the last six months, but there's currently no way to search recent issues of the ADG.  Bailey also keeps the last six months in print of Conway's daily newspaper, The Log Cabin Democrat.

   

ERIC – THE Education Database! 
World’s largest source of published and unpublished education information, supported by the U.S. Department of Education. Contains annotated references to nonjournal material and to journal articles.  Links to some full text documents.

  • Select “Subject” or “Subject Phrase” from the drop-down menu to narrow searching.
  • Pay attention to subject headings when you look at your results!
  • Limit to type of document (EJ or ED), language, and education level.
  • Use “*” on the end of your term to pick up different endings.
  • Use quotes to search your terms as a phrase.
  • Click on the “Libraries worldwide that own item” to see whether or not UCA owns it.

 

 

Discoveries with Technology

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip