This is the "Home" page of the "SciFinder" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SciFinder  

Research tips and tools for using the SciFinder database.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2013 URL: http://hendrix.libguides.com/content.php?pid=449102 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Tools

SciFinder (1907-present)  

Premier tool for searching patents and chemical literature (over 10,000 journals) in all areas of chemistry.  Included are the reference database CAplus, structure database CAS REGISTRY, reaction database CASREACT, commercial source database CHEMCATS, regulatory database CHEMLIST, and reference database MEDLINE.  Hendrix students and faculty MUST REGISTER to set up access.

 

SciFinder Search Tips 

  • You must register to gain access to SciFinder!  Find the link on our database list on the library website.  Never give out your password to anyone.  SciFinder is only available from on-campus.
  • Only one person can use SciFinder at a time, and we share access with a few other universities and colleges around the globe.  So if at first you don’t succeed, try again!
  • Use the default “Explore references” option to find citations to articles.
  • Type in your search terms – SciFinder will break down your search and offer search sets based on requiring all or some terms.
  • Click on the full text to see what your options are.  Much of the time, you’ll need to check our Journals List to see whether or not you have access.
  • Search by journal title by clicking on “Journal” at the menu on the left.  Type in the journal name and then click on the “Refine” tab to enter a topic.

 


SciFinder Content

SciFinder® retrieves information contained in databases produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) as well as in the MEDLINE® database of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Database 

Content 

Reference Databases 

CAplusSM 

Literature from 1907 to the present plus selected pre-1907 references. Sources include journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more.

CAplus covers a wide spectrum of science-related information, including chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, and related sciences.

MEDLINE® 

Biomedical literature from more than 4,780 journals and 70 countries, covering literature from 1950 to the present.

Structure Database 

CAS REGISTRYSM 

Specific chemical substances, including organic and inorganic compounds, sequences, coordination compounds, polymers, and alloys covering 1957 to the present, with some classes going back to the early 1900s.

Reaction Database 

CASREACT® 

Reaction information for single- and multiple-step reactions from 1907 to the present.

Commercial Source Database 

CHEMCATS® 

Chemical source information, including supplier addresses and pricing information derived from current chemical catalogs and libraries, retrieved for individual substances.

Regulatory Database 

CHEMLIST® 

Regulatory information records from 1979 to the present, including substance identity information, inventory status, sources, and compliance information.

 

 


What You Can Find

Information you can find with SciFinder includes:

 

Content Area 

Information Available 

References 

  • Title
  • Author/editor/inventor
  • Company name/corporate source/patent assignee
  • Publication year
  • Source, publication, date, publisher, volume, issue, pagination, CODEN, ISSN
  • Patent identification, including patent, application, priority, and patent family information
  • Abstract of the article or patent
  • Indexing
  • Supplementary terms
  • Citations
  • Substances, sequences, and reactions discussed within the document
 

Substances 

  • Chemical name
  • CAS Registry Number®  
  • Molecular formula
  • Structure diagram
  • Sequence information, including GenBank® and patent annotations
  • Property data, including spectral diagrams
  • Commercial source information from chemical supplier catalogs
  • Regulatory information  
  • Editor notes
  • Documents in which the substance is referenced
  • Reactions in which the substance participates
 

Reactions 

  • Reaction diagrams, including reactants, products, reagents, catalysts, solvents, and step notes
  • Document in which the reaction is referenced
  • Additional substance details, reactions, references, regulatory information, and commercial source information for all reaction participants
  • Notes
 

The above information is from the American Chemical Society's SciFinder Content Page.
Copyright © 2011 American Chemical Society. All Rights Reserved.
 

Library Director & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Britt Anne Murphy
Contact Info
My desk is behind the reference desk on the first floor of the library. You can't miss me, but if you do, send an email.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip