Slavery in the United States
R 306.362 SL16r
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture & History
R 973.0496073 En19s
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
R 973.703 En19h
Encyclopedia of the Confederacy
R 973.713 En19c
American Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
American Renaissance in New England
R 809.04 N622
American Women Prose Writers, 1820-70
R 810.99287 Am35m
Antebellum Writers in the South
R 810.9975 An86
19th Century American Fiction Writers
R 813.309 N622L
(Bailey, BearCat, and WorldCat!)
Personal Narratives & Political Papers
• For a list of diaries, eye-witness accounts, etc., in our book collection, use the keyword category of the online catalog and type: United States personal narratives [your subject, i.e. African Americans or Civil War]
• To find personal papers of a political figure, try combining the person you are searching for with some of the following phrases in a keyword search: archives, papers, correspondence, manuscripts.
Shelved alphabetically by title in the microfilm area:
American Women’s Diaries (located in catalogued section!)
Congressional Globe 1833- 1873
Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations
Register of Debates in Congress 1825-1838
Secondary Source Databases
MLA (1963 - present)
Partially full text database that contains citations to articles in over 4,400 journal titles.
• Use connectors: and, or, not
• Use truncation: * on the end of your term retrieves variant endings.
• Use the indexes to find the names of authors and journals, and names as subjects to find information about authors.
A largely full-text, social sciences database that covers complete runs of scholarly periodicals, but NOT the most current 2-5 years!
• Use the Advanced Search.
• Select whichever disciplines/journals are relevant to your searching.
• Use the drop-down menu for options to connect search terms – and, or, near.
• Use “*” to account for variant word endings.
• Use quotes to search phrases. Ex.: “slave auction”
Full text of nearly 200 scholarly journals published by university presses in the humanities and social sciences.
• Use quotations (e.g. "slave narrative") to search for phrases.
• Combine terms by typing Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT, or type terms in separate boxes and use the pull-downs at the left of the search boxes.
• Select fields to search from the right-hand pulldowns.
• Use truncation (*) on the end of your term to search for plurals or parts of words.
• Use limits to narrow the search results to specific sets of journals or articles.
Primary Source Databases
African American Newspapers
CD-ROM shelved behind check-out desk: 071.3 Af83n
War of the Rebellion…Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies & Navies
CD-ROM shelved behind check-out desk: 973.74 C499g;
or print volumes in Government Documents: D 101.45:1;
or online at: http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/browse.monographs/waro.html
New York Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Tribune
Making of America
Civil War Maps Collection (Library of Congress)
Civil War Photographs (Library of Congress)
Civil War: Women and the Homefront (Duke)
Documenting the American South (UNC at Chapel Hill)
Documents on Slavery (The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School)
The Valley of the Shadow (Univ. of VA)