This is the "Home" page of the "German Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

German Literature  

Research tips and tools for German literature.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2013 URL: http://hendrix.libguides.com/content.php?pid=449014 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resources

Reference


Dictionaries        R 433ish

Encyclopedias & Historical Information
Encyclopedia of German Literature                           R 830.3 En19k
The Oxford Companion to German Literature             R 830.3 G183o3
Companion to Twentieth-Century German Lit.            R 830.9 F981c
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture         R 943 En19s
Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia…                        R 943.08 M72b

Literary Criticism & Biographical Information
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800*                    R 809.03 L712g
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism*                   R 809.04 N622
Contemporary Literary Criticism*                             R 809.04 C767
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism *                      R 809.04 G131t
Dictionary of Literary Biography**                           R 830.9ish
Modern German Literature                                     R 830.90091 D71m

*Brown Books!     **Blue Books!






Online Catalog 

These subject headings will bring "sure success" when searched in the keyword or subject heading categories:

German drama
German fiction
Germany history
German literature
German literature (18th century, etc.)
German literature history and criticism
German poetry (18th century, etc.)
German wit and humor
Short stories, German 

Some tips:

  • Keyword:  most flexible, most results, use AND to separate terms!
  • Subject:  more restrictive, categories, works like an index, idea farm.
  • Title:  more restrictive, have precise titles, works like an index.
  • Modify/Limit:  limit by language or location. Ex.: media center
  • If searching for criticism on an author, search in the keyword category and include the word criticism. Ex: Goethe and criticism

 

Online Databases

 MLA (1963 - present)

  • Use connectors: and, or, not
  • Use truncation: * on the end of your term retrieves variant endings. Example: dram* retrieves drama, dramatic, but also dramamine!
  • Use wildcards: ? can substitute for one or more letters, and accounts for spelling variations. Example: theat?? retrieves theater and theatre; wom?n retrieves woman and women.
  • Use the indexes to find the names of authors and journals.

 

Literature Resource Center

  • Pay attention to the tabs –results display by type of document (biography, criticism, etc.)
  • Use and, or, and not, and quotes for phrase searching.
  • Use * on the end of your term for variant endings, and ? for variant spellings.
  • Apostrophes and ampersands (&) are not recognized.

 

Project MUSE 
Full text of nearly 200 scholarly journals published by university presses in the humanities and social sciences.

 
  • Limit to books or journals on the initial search, if desired.
  • Limit to research area, author, or language after you've performed a search. 
  • Use truncation (*) on the end of a term to search for plurals or parts of words.
  • Deselect the "Only content I have full access to" for more citations.

 

Social Sciences 

  • Use the advanced search for more searching options.
  • Use * on the end of your term for variant endings, and ? to account for variant spellings.  Ex.:  Chin* retrieves China, Chinese, etc.  wom?n  retrieves woman and women
  • Boolean/Phrase search mode requires “AND” to break your search terms.
  • Use the indexes to search for journal titles, subject terms, and author information.

 

Remember that you can use interlibrary loan to get books and articles that we and UCA don’t have. Check our catalog and Journals List as well as UCA’s catalog, BearCat, and UCA’s Journals List first.

Use our interlibrary loan forms to order your materials.


 

Print Germanic Literature & Language Journals at Bailey Library*

 

American German Review
Berlinische Monatsschrift  
Comparative Literature
Critical Inquiry
Criticism
German Life
Germanic Review
Deutsche Sprachwelt
 
German as a Foreign Language (GFL)   
German Quarterly
Germanic Review
Germano-Slavica 
Glossen (Carlisle, Pa.)   
Goethe Yearbook 
Journal of Comparative Germanic Linguistics
 
Journal of English and Germanic Philology 
MLN (Modern Language Notes)
Merkur
Modern Austrian Literature 
Modern Fiction Studies
Modern Language Journal
Modern Philology
Modern Poetry Studies
Monatshefte (Madison, Wis) 
New German Critique 
PMLA
Scandinavian Studies
 
Seminar (Toronto) 
Unterrichtspraxis 
Zeitschrift für Interkulturellen Fremdsprachenunterricht   

 

*Check our Journals List for locations and dates.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Britt Murphy
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip