This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry: Advanced Inorganic" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry: Advanced Inorganic  

Research tips and tools for inorganic chemistry.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2013 URL: http://hendrix.libguides.com/content.php?pid=448990 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Tools

Reference

Macmillian Encyclopedia of Chemistry
         
R 540.3 M228L
CRC Handbook of Physics & Chemistry
         
R 541.9 C42h81
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
         
R 546.03 En19k
Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International
         
R 630.243 As78o17
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
         
R 660.3 K635wi5
Dictionary of Chemistry
          Online (Oxford Reference

 

eBooks (Springer)

  • Search 30,000 eBooks in the areas of the sciences, including chemistry.
  • Results are displayed as book chapters.
  • View and download the PDFs to your device, print, or email.
  • Bailey's access includes books published between the years 2005-2012. 

 

Databases

General Science
General Science is a good place to start looking for articles.  This database contains a mixture of popular and scholarly sources.  A portion of this database is full text. 

  • Use the advanced search for more searching options.
  • Use * on the end of your term for variant endings. Ex.: crystallograph* retrieves crystallography, crystallographic, etc.
  • Boolean/Phrase search mode requires “AND” to break your search terms.
  • Use the indexes to search for journal titles, subject terms, and author information. 




ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect contains citations, abstracts, and some full text of articles in scholarly scientific journals.

  • Select the "Journals" box, if desired.
  • Under the Source menu, select "Subscribed Sources" to retrieve mostly full text articles.
  • Limit to a subject area to focus your searching.
  • Check out the related articles, cited by, and reference articles to the right when viewing an abstract.
  • Beware the "white page" icons - you can read the abstract of those articles, but not access the article itself. 

 

ACS Web Editions 
Access to the full text of select journals published by the American Chemical Society.

  • Use “Advanced Search” – the button in the upper right part of the screen near the search box.
  • Your words are automatically “ANDed” together.
  • Search phrases by using quotes.
  • Use “*” on the end of your term for variant endings or select the “Enable stemming.”
  • Narrow your search to specific journals by clicking on the “Modify Selection” button in the content type section.

 

SciFinder 
Premier tool for searching patents and chemical literature (over 10,000 journals) in all areas of chemistry.  Search references, substances, and reactions.

  • You must register to gain access to SciFinder!  Never give out your password to anyone.  SciFinder is only available from on-campus.
  • Use the default “Explore references” option to find citations to articles.
  • Type in your search terms – SciFinder will break down your search and offer search sets based on requiring all or some terms.
  • Click on the full text to see what your options are.  Much of the time, you’ll need to check our Journals List to see whether or not you have access.
  • Search by journal title by clicking on “Journal” at the menu on the left.  Type in the journal name and then click on the “Refine” tab to enter a topic.

 

 


Journals

Journals List 
The gateway to figuring out what we have access to at Hendrix, both in print and online.  Good sources to begin with are Chemical & Engineering News, Scientific American, Science, Nature, The New York Times, and journals from the ACS.

  • Link to e-journals by title and subject to search for both print and online journals.
  • Type in the name of the journal in the search box.
  • If we have it in print, it will state that and provide a link back to our catalog, where you'll be able to check dates.
  • If we have it online, it will provide links to whichever databases house the online journal - pay attention to the dates.  Usually you are plopped into a chronological index - just mine down to the year and issue, and select the article from the list!

Interlibrary Loan

If we don’t have the journal you need, check UCA’s Journals List.  If they don’t have it, order your article on interlibrary loan.  BUT - be sure you need it, and be sure it's in a language you can read!

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Britt Murphy
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip