This is the "Home" page of the "Anthropology & Sociology Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology & Sociology Research  

Resources for anthropology and sociology research
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2013 URL: http://hendrix.libguides.com/anthropology_sociology_research Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resources

Reference

Cultural Anthropology & Ethnology:  300sPeruvian Woman and Child
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
          R 301.297 En19h 
Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology
          R 301.203 W737d
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
          R 305.803 En19L
Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology
          R 305.8 H191b
An Ethnohistorical Dictionary of China
          R 305.800951 OL8e
Handbook of North American Indians
          R 970.00497 H191s

Sociology:  300s
Sociology:  A Guide to Reference & Information Sources
          R 016.301 Ab99s2
Encyclopedic dictionary of Marxism, Socialism and Communism
          R 335.603 W643e
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behav. Sciences
          R 300.3 In8si 
Encyclopedia of Sociology
          R 301.03 En19b2
Women in Today's World
          
R 305.403 En19s
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
          R 301.03 J63b2

Archaeology:  900s
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology
          R 930.103 Ox2f
Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa
          
R 960.2 En19v

Annual Reviews
Annual Review of Sociology (301.05 An78) Anthropology (301.205 An78a)

 


Online Catalogs

(http://baileylib.hendrix.edu & WorldCat!)

Some tips:

  • These are BOOK databases - like the Amazon.com for libraries!
  • Keyword: most flexible, most results.
  • Subject: more restrictive, categories, works like an index, idea farm. Start withanthropology or sociology and go from there!
  • Title: more restrictive, have precise titles, works like an index.
  • Modify/Limit: limit by language or location. Ex.: media center
     

Databases

AnthroSource
AnthroSource, developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), is a searchable online database of 32 AAA journals, with links to archival content at JSTOR. Except forAnthropology News, AnthroSource indexes current issues for the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications. 

  • Use the Advanced Search option.
  • Take note of the search box options for phrase and “and” searching.
  • No truncation, so use “At least one of the words” search box.
  • Check out fancier options:  References and Citation Tracking are available from the “HTML Version and More Information” link.


JSTOR
A largely full-text, social sciences database that covers complete runs of scholarly periodicals.  MAY NOT BE CURRENT!

  • Select whichever disciplines that are relevant to your research.
  • Use the Advanced Search.
  • Use the drop-down menu to connect search terms:  ANDOR, and NEAR.  Ex:  education AND bilingual or dual language
  • Use “?” on the end of your term to account for plurals, and “*” to account for variant word endings.
  • Use quotes to search phrases. Ex.:  “rural women” AND ("South America" OR South American")


SocINDEX
SocINDEX indexes over 4,500 journals, as well as conference papers, dissertations, book reviews, and sociology books. This database covers sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Some full text is provided.

  • Use the advanced search for more searching options.
  • Use * on the end of your term for variant endings, and ? to account for variant spellings.  Ex.:  Chin* retrieves China, Chinese, etc.  wom?n  retrieves woman and women
  • Boolean/Phrase search mode requires “AND” to break your search terms.
  • Use the indexes to search for journal titles, subject terms, and authors.
  • Check our online Journals List to see if we carry the journal.

 

Project MUSE 
Full text of nearly 200 scholarly journals published by university presses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • Limit to books or journals on the initial search, if desired.
  • Limit to research area, author, or language after you've performed a search. 
  • Use truncation (*) on the end of a term to search for plurals or parts of words.
  • Deselect the "Only content I have full access to" for more citations.

 

Social Sciences 

  • Use the advanced search for more searching options.
  • Use * on the end of your term for variant endings, and ? to account for variant spellings. Ex.:  Chin* retrieves China, Chinese, etc.  wom?n  retrieves woman and women
  • Boolean/Phrase search mode requires “AND” to break your search terms.
  • Use the indexes to search for journal titles, subject terms, and author information.

 


Interlibrary Loan

Remember that you can use interlibrary loan to get books and articles that we and UCA don’t have. Check our Catalog and Journals List as well as UCA’s catalog, BearCat, and UCA's Journals List first. Use our interlibrary loan forms to order your materials.

 

Subject Guide

Britt Murphy
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip