This is the "Home" page of the "Animal Behavior " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Animal Behavior  

The study of the genetic, developmental, physiological, ecological, and evolutionary bases of adaptive behavior of animals, including humans
Last Updated: Sep 19, 2013 URL: http://hendrix.libguides.com/animal_behavior_psychology Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resources

Print Reference

Encyclopedia of Psychology                                
     R 150.3 En19c2
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior                        
     R 150.3 En19r
Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Ethology                     
     R 591.5 G929g 
The Oxford Companion to Animal Behavior          
     R 591.5 Ox2m
Animal Behavior Desk Reference                         
     R 591.503 B279a  
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior                         
     R 591.503 En27b  
Grzimek’s Encyclopedia Mammals                        
      R 599 G929g
Encyclopedia of Human Biology                           
     R 612.03 En1

Online Reference
Dictionary of Animal Behaviour


Online Catalog

These subject headings will bring “sure success” when searched in the keyword or subject heading categories:

Animal behavior
LionsAnimal communication
Animal ecology
Animal migration
Animal societies
Behavior evolution
Human behavior
Psychology, Comparative
Sociobiology

Some tips:

  • Keyword:  most flexible, most results
  • Subject:  more restrictive, categories, works like an index, idea farm.
  • Title:  more restrictive, have precise titles, works like an index. 
  • Modify/Limit:  limit by language or location.  Ex.:  reference

WorldCat 
The world’s online catalog.  Use this database to find books that have been published...period.

  • Select “Subject” or “Subject Phrase” from the drop-down menu to narrow your searching.
  • Pay attention to subject headings when you look at your results!
  • Limit to type of material, language, and audience where appropriate.
  • Use the index button Browse Index   to find an alphabetical lists, and use the subject headings button Find preferred subjects  to browse the list of subject headings based on a term or concept.
  • Use “*” on the end of your term to pick up different endings.
  • Use quotes to search your terms as a phrase.
  • Click on the “Libraries worldwide that own item” to see whether or not UCA owns it (anything Hendrix owns displays this symbol:  In your library).

Databases & Articles

General Science (1982-present)
General Science is a good place to start looking for articles.  This database contains a mixture of popular and scholarly sources.  A portion of this database is full text.  Searching hints:

  • Use the advanced search for more searching options.
  • Use * on the end of your term for variant endings.  Ex.:  environment* retrieves environmental, environmentalist, etc.
  • Boolean/Phrase search mode requires “AND” to break your search terms.
  • Use the indexes to search for journal titles, subject terms, and author information.

 

BIOSIS Previews (2000-present)
BIOSIS Previews is the online version of BIOSIS containing citations to current research, 2000-present. 

  • Use the “Search” option (not the “Advanced Search” option).
  • Use AND:migration and snow geese
  • Use OR: sexual selection or mating.
  • Use the “Search History” link to combine searches.
  • Use truncation (*).
  • Limit searching by major concept, language, document type, and literature type.

 

PsycINFO (1887-present)
PsycINFO, a database produced by the American Psychological Association, is the premier research tool in psychology.  PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology. 

  • Use the basic search mode.
  • Use * on the end of your term for variant endings, and ? to account for variant spellings. 
  • Boolean/Phrase search mode requires “AND” to break your search terms.
  • Limit to English.
  • Use the indexes to search for journal titles, subject terms, and author information. 

 

JSTOR (not current)
A largely full-text, social sciences database that covers complete runs of scholarly periodicals.  MAY NOT BE CURRENT!

  • Use the Advanced Search.
  • Select whichever disciplines that are relevant to your research, noting that you decide whether or not JSTOR includes citations and links to other content.
  • Use the drop-down menu to connect search terms:  AND,OR, andNEAR.
  • Use “?” on the end of your term to account for plurals, and “*” to account for variant word endings.
  • Use quotes to search phrases. Ex.:  "sexual selection" AND "bighorn sheep"

Journals List & Interlibrary Loan

For a complete list of which journals Bailey Library has, check out our Journals List.  If we don’t have the journal you need, check UCA’s Journals List.  If they don’t have it, order your article on interlibrary loan!

Subject Guide

Britt Murphy
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip