Welcome to the Bailey Library research guide for TEC: resources for researching Haiti. You will find both print and electronic resources pertaining to your topic as well as guides on conducting research. If you need further assistance with choosing your topic, doing research, or citing your sources, please contact a librarian.
Where do I start?
Reference is a good place to begin looking for information. Almost every subject area has a set of encyclopedias that will give you background information on your topic (such as history or statistics), as well as a bibliography. Use the bibliography as a "further reading" list!
Encyclopedia of World Cultures: Middle America and the Caribbean (v. 8)
R 301.297 En19h
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora : Origins, Experiences, and Culture
R 305.89603 En19d
The Statesman's Yearbook: The Politics, Cultures, and Economies of the World
R 310 St2 2014
The next stop may be our online catalog (books & media only!). Browse until you feel comfortable with the scope of your topic, then as you develop a thesis, become familiar with the words that are used to describe your thesis. Here are a few hints about using the online catalog:
- Keyword: most flexible, most results
- Subject: more restrictive, categories, works like an index, idea farm.
- Title: more restrictive, have precise titles, works like an index.
- Modify/Limit: limit by language or location. Ex.: media center
How do I find articles to support my argument?
You will be using the Internet to access these databases – this is different than using a search engine on the Web! The library pays for accessing these databaes because they provide better searching and sometimes provide the article itself. Only use information you have accessed through our web page. The challenge is to choose the right database – some recommendations:
Academic Search Complete (1887-present)
Some citations and a lot of full text to both popular and scholarly articles. Good for contemporary issues.
- Use AND to separate your concepts.
- Use "*" to pick up word variations: Haiti*
- Limit by date and/or full text (if you’re in a hurry!).
- Focus by using subject headings - look to the left on your results page.
LexisNexis Academic (1970s-present)
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe is a full text information service, and is the best place to look for articles from major newspapers such as the New York Times and Washington Post. Hints:
- To search newspapers, select the News tab.
- Select the “Terms and Connectors” radio button.
- Build a search containing search terms, document sections, and connectors using the simple fields provided.
- Limit by date and/or publication title.
Project Muse (1990s-present)
Muse is a full text interdisciplinary scholarly database – no hunting for articles necessary!
- Limit to books or journals on the initial search, if desired.
- Limit to research area, author, or language after you've performed a search.
- Use truncation (*) on the end of a term to search for plurals or parts of words.
- Deselect the "Only content I have full access to" for more citations.
Literature Resource Center (current)
A reference database of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses on authors from every age and literary discipline.
- Type titles or authors into the basic search, or use the Advanced Search for more options.
- Make use of the "tabs," which offer criticism, biographies, overviews, reviews, and primary sources.
Humanities Full Text (1983-present)
Interdisciplinary, some full text, easy to use.
- Check the Humanities Full Text box.
- If Smart Search doesn’t pull up relevant results, try Keyword instead.
- Use the Browse button to find how the database uses your term (esp. authors’ names).
- Limit your search by article type and/or date.
- Use * on the end of your term for variant endings, and quotes to search a phrase.
Social Sciences (1983-present)
Citations, abstracts, and full text from an array of the most important social science journals. Coverage includes the latest concepts, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
- Use * on the end of your term for variant endings. Ex.: Haiti* retreives Haiti, Haitian, etc.
- Boolean/Phrase search mode requires "AND" to break search terms.
- Use the indexes to search for journal titles, subject terms, and author information.
Search the Library Catalog
Off Campus Access
For off campus access to databases
- Find the database you need here.
- A window will open stating that a password is required to view this page, and you will be asked for your name and Hendrix ID.
- Type your name (Last Name) and ID exactly as it appears on your Hendrix ID card (for example: 123456).
- Click on the submit button, and everything else will appear as if you were on campus.